Episodic Reviews: Bunny Drop 05, 06 & 07

I’m sure LOST wouldn’t have had nearly as many viewers if they all knew how the series was going to end. Having read the entirety of the manga, I wasn’t exactly excited in keeping up with the rest of Bunny Drop even if the episodes are still covering the better half of the series. That said, it was moreso because I didn’t have much to say about the last couple episodes than the fact that I had a midterm to study for that I haven’t been keeping up with my posts. Still, the episodes haven’t exactly dropped in quality yet, so I’ll continue cranking out reviews even if it means combining episodes so there’s more to read at once. I’m weird like that.

I will give credit to the author for making me hate Masako right off the bat. Even though technically, I can see myself getting more pissed at Daikichi’s grandpa for causing such a scandal, at least he comes off as likable. Masako, not so much. I mean, she’s a manga artist, so you know no good will come from her. Add to that her hipster bf and I practically want to chuck loquat pits at her face.

The series in general, while not having the most normal of beginnings, does come off as a slice-of-life type of anime more than anything else. Episode 6 in particular is a good example. I still can’t believe I actually sat through approximately 21 minutes of talk about growing trees and enjoyed it.

This week’s episode, on the other hand, was the one of enough substance to start up my posts again. I guess if the scandal concerning your gramps and his maid start dying down, it must only mean that a new scandal’s about to come your way.

I wonder what Haruko’s parents chose as her tree? I’m gonna make the obvious One Piece Nami reference and say orange. Though I’m kinda surprised I didn’t notice their similar character designs before.

While I’d hate the idea of keeping in-laws under the same roof as me, I’d feel too guilty if I sent them off to some kind of nursing home, so I guess I can see Haruko’s problem. Still, you’d think she had some girlfriends or something before having to resort to coming to her cousin’s place unannounced with her kid. If Bunny Drop were to take place in America, I feel like she’d be kicking it with Jennifer Aniston in her oddly big and somehow affordable loft by now.

But as interesting as the episode was, I honestly completely forgot that it even happened in the manga. Thinking about it now, though, I’m sure this was one of the last interesting things to happen before things start turning to crap. Maybe with an exception to jump-ropes, but even then, that got old pretty fast. Gonna reiterate my hoping that the anime takes enough liberties and adapts its own ending for the series because I really don’t like how things went down in the manga. I cannot repeat that enough.

Leave a comment