Garage Exploration: Ninja Turtles

I’ve never lived in a house that had an attic. At least, I’ve never lived in a house I knew had an attic. Either way, if I were to base real life off the shows I watched when I was younger, I’d say that attic were windows to another realm, filled with a crapton of old-people stuff, each one with a story to tell. Yeah, well I never had an attic—I had a garage.

Occasionally helping actually sort through all the amassed stuffage (accent on the “occasionally”), I’ve actually found quite the number of things with some interesting little stories behind ‘em, hence this new blog series. Hopefully, it’ll serve as something new to post about when I don’t feel like an Episodic Review.

I’m sure anyone that grew up at the time can tell you just how big the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles were back in the late ‘80s and early ‘90s. Hell, they were even my first entry on wordpress. Hopefully, I won’t be repeating myself too much.

What you see in the above picture is my main set of turtles figures. While I did have a good number of gimmick figures, like ones that transformed into a car (the door bit would always break on me mid-transforming), one with karate chop action, etc, apparently I still made it a point to have the core turtles at their most basic of action figure forms, keeping them all inside my bike pouch (or Pekkle the duck backpack if the occasion called for something slightly classier) for easy transportation. Though that’s not to say I traveled that far with them in the first place. Off the top of my head, I can remember the occasional trip to the park, but for the most part, I’d keep it parked in front of my house on the driveway while my mom would be gardening.

And for those wondering, yeah, those are feathers packed along with the turtles. I had a thing for soft things when I was younger and would bike around the cul-de-sac that was my neighborhood looking for any feathers I could collect. No real relevance to the turtles figures other than they shared the same space inside my bike bag. Though, thinking about it, I guess they had the same potential for disease as a group of mutagen-exposed pet store turtles would have.

About daemoncorps
Gabe (daemoncorps) has been writing about anime and the like since 2005, but has been babysat by it for much longer. He primarily spends his days distracting himself on twitter or writing for Fandom Post until he realizes he has a weekly webcomic (tapastic.com/series/scramblebouquet) to work on. He also just finished writing his first full-length graphic novel about unemployment (https://tapastic.com/episode/293804).

Leave a Reply

