Episodic Review: Bunny Drop 04

So I started reading the Bunny Drop manga after loving the anime so far. Long story short, I’m a good 20 or so chapters ahead of what’s being aired right now. I won’t spoil anything for you anime-only peeps, but  I will say I’ve reached something of an awkward point in the manga so far; my hopes remain high that the anime will adapt things in a more erm… “palatable” manner. Anyway, episode four:

“Daikichi isn’t my dad.”

Ooh, awkward. Kids can be pretty blunt. And it doesn’t help that they can’t exactly express what they want in a way that others will get, either.

It always annoyed me how in some comics and animations, you’d see something like handwriting or drawings that are supposed to be done by kids and yet they look crazy well done. Kudos to noitaminA and Production I.G. for actually getting it.


Ah, enter Kouki-kun and his conveniently divorced mom. The strange thing is that both the manga and anime hint at the possibility of either a Rin/Kouki thing going on as well as a Daikichi/Nitani thing going on, which could result in something really trashy if taken in the wrong direction. I vaguely remember classmate of mine in 8th grade reading a book that ended in the two teen characters getting together only to come home and find that their parents got married to each other. Yeah, girls in my 8th grade were weird.

Still, as weird as the whole clashing of “who’s allowed the relationship thing” is, it does work well in this context. Daikichi’s 30 year old mindset of how a relationship is supposed to work against Rin’s more natural 6 year old mindset of letting things happen without even knowing it suits their characters well.

Camaraderie in the work-place must be fun. The thought of multiple people working for the similar but slightly different reason of supporting their family regardless of how different they are from each other just intrigues me. Good to know at the least Daikichi isn’t stressing too much after his demotion.

Dunno how I feel about camaraderie after-hours, though. Have you seen people bring their kids to the bar section of restaurants. Yeah, it looks just as weird as it sounds. Eh, at least they had the decency of renting out a room.

And so the plot as to who Rin’s mother is continues. I love how Daikichi’s gramps couldn’t handle typing up his will, so he not only hand-writes one, but hides it in a secret compartment inside Rin’s health record book. He may have shacked up with someone young enough to be his granddaughter, but he still comes off as so lovable that I can overlook that. Slightly odd, though, is how his note defends Rin’s mother but ultimately just makes me hate her more (#teamDaikichi). Also, love the slightly smaller Rin in the flashback. It’s the details like this that keep me watching!

… as well as the heartwarmingly hilarious antics. In grade school, my girl classmates would always complain whenever their dad had to do their hair for them, but at least Rin seems to appreciate Daikichi’s efforts. I don’t remember anything about “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” being in the manga. Still, I’ve liked most rewrites the anime’s done so far, so I’m hoping for the best with whatever this leads to.

I would have personally saved Rin’s mom under a less formal name in my contacts list, but I guess Daikichi’s not the type for such things.

“Is a high school student an adult?”
“I guess that’s half an adult…”

We’re entering indentured servant territory with that line, but Daikichi’s delivery of it keeps it awesome. Really digging how competent his child-raising skills are even without any prior experience.

Looks like we’ll finally see Rin’s mom come next episode. I’ll try to keep the expletives to a minimum.

 

About daemoncorps
Gabe (daemoncorps) has been writing about anime and the like since 2005, but has been babysat by it for much longer. He primarily spends his days distracting himself on twitter or writing for Fandom Post until he realizes he has a weekly webcomic (tapastic.com/series/scramblebouquet) to work on. He also just finished writing his first full-length graphic novel about unemployment (https://tapastic.com/episode/293804).

Leave a Reply

