Episodic Review: Bunny Drop 01

The first time I even heard of Bunny Drop was a couple months ago in my suggestions section of amazon. Curious, I clicked the link to volume 1 and read over the synopsis about a thirty-year-old deciding to adopt the young illegitimate daughter of his late grandfather. I remember thinking it strange that such a premise for a series could exist (and in manga form, no less) and left it at that. It wasn’t until it was rated second in blogsuki’s latest thin-slicing post that I decided to take a closer look into things. Blogsuki actually taking a non-pervy series in such high regard (granted, it’s a “thin-slicing” post, but still)? Heaven forbid. The fact that he mentioned the series’ opening to be performed by Puffy AmiYumi only further piqued my interest (in a sick sense, but piqued nonetheless).


Knowing absolutely nothing about the series aside the brief glimpse on amazon, I decided to get myself a bit more acquainted with the series in the only way I knew how: Wikipedia. Now, I don’t consider myself to do that much digging when it comes to things like this, but I do like to at least hit up one major point: whether or not the source material (if there is one) the anime is based on has ended or not. To date, it looks like the series actually just ended (October ’05 to April ’11) with a total of nine volumes. Not too shabby. And furthermore, this hopefully means the pacing will be perfect, since there isn’t any need to freak out about the anime getting ahead of the source material and having to resort to… filler (:shivers:).

Another thing I noticed was the genre Wikipedia designated the series: Josei. Having never heard of the term before, I clicked the link to the according page, which defined the term as “a term that refers to the target demographic of manga created mostly by women for late teenage and adult female audiences. Readers range from 15-44. In Japanese, the word josei means simply “female” and has no manga-related connotations at all.” Oh yeah, now I remember why I never looked further into this series before. Seriously, you’re telling me I’m reading not just girl stuff, but middle aged girl stuff? Still, having just watched the first episode, I’m willing to ignore any and all labels and continue onward with the series.


Speaking of labels, the first episode does a good job of avoiding straightup labels for any of the characters. Main character Daikichi is first seen living in a somewhat unkempt house, apparently alone. However, not once in the episode did I ever give him the title of NEET; he just seems like an ordinary person you’d see anywhere that has his own shortcoming just like the rest of us, and not like a “typical” anime character at all. Has late grandfather’s illegitimate child Rin comes off in a similar fashion. While it’s obvious that the series will be focusing on these two, she doesn’t come off as a Leverne to his Shirley and instead works as her own character. And with a backstory like hers, such shouldn’t be a surprise.

The only character that comes off as a “character” would be the kid daughter of Daikichi’s cousin. Throughout the episode, she’s seen causing havoc during a wake in typical mischievous kid fashion. And while I guess I can see her character existing in the real world (I’m sure every family has at least the one brat) it comes off as so obvious that she’s made as a contrasting character to Rin that I can’t see past that. Though that’s not to say that the contrast didn’t work for me; the entire episode, Rin barely says a word, while the bratty Reina goes around making a fuss wherever she goes. It gives the impression that Rin is smarter beyond her years and as such can work well alongside Daikichi as a companion rather than that one offbeat kid that ultimately makes him a better person.

Definitely worth a looksie. And at two episodes in with virtually no other anime of any interest this season, what do you have to lose?

About daemoncorps
Gabe (daemoncorps) has been writing about anime and the like since 2005, but has been babysat by it for much longer. He primarily spends his days distracting himself on twitter or writing for Fandom Post until he realizes he has a weekly webcomic (tapastic.com/series/scramblebouquet) to work on. He also just finished writing his first full-length graphic novel about unemployment (https://tapastic.com/episode/293804).

Leave a Reply

