DaemonCorps: 2010 in review

[Wordpress e-mailed me stats for how well the blog did last year and I figured I’d share with the class. And just so you won’t be bombarded with nothing but stats, my sidenotes will be included in italics. Enjoy!]

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads This blog is doing awesome!

Encouraging, if not the most number heavy of the email.

Crunchy numbers

A Boeing 747-400 passenger jet can hold 416 passengers. This blog was viewed about 3,200 times in 2010. That’s about 8 full 747s.

In 2010, there were 27 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 34 posts. There were 12 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 5mb. That’s about a picture per month.

The busiest day of the year was December 4th with 47 views. The most popular post that day was Collect the 7 Dragon Balls! er… “Horcruxes”: Deathly Hallows Pt. 1 Review.

Combining the search referral big fish of the Dragon Ball franchise with that of the Harry Potter franchise… yeah, not surprised. And I’m sure the Emma Watson sidenote near the end of the entry helped some, too. You have no idea how many search referrals I got for Hermione in her Horcrux form that week. Kinda surprised it didn’t make the top five search referrals.

Where did they come from?

Some visitors came searching, mostly for cubix, a very potter sequel, pokemon adventures, pokemon manga, and the disappearance of haruhi suzumiya.

I wasn’t all that surprised to find that Pokemon and HP are still as popular as ever in search results, but cubix? Any one of you guys that actually got hereby searching that, please clue me in. Do 3D Korean cartoons seriously have that much staying power? Meh…

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1. Collect the 7 Dragon Balls! er… “Horcruxes”: Deathly Hallows Pt. 1 Review November 2010

2. “I’m Harry Frikkin’ Potter!” A Very Potter Sequel Review July 2010

Again, not surprised my HP entries got the most views. If anything I’m more surprised a book series from the nineties is still getting talked about. Then again, if I learned anything from the last year it’s that the media enjoy the thrill of dipping back into older series for the nostalgia audience. On that note, I’m kinda curious as to how well a “Captain Underpants” adaptation would do… in cartoon form, of course. It’ll be a sad day in pop culture history when the announcement for a live-action form of that series gets out. Actually, I can think of a number of things that could benefit from some kind of movie or TV show adaptation. I smell a future List entry.

3. The Rise and Fall (and Possible Rise Again) of Haruhi Suzumiya December 2009

I honestly wasn’t that blown away by “Disappearance.” If anything I’m still waiting for Bakemonogatari to come out with a well deserved sequel series. Seriously, US distributors, get on getting the license for that series.

4. Iron Man Anime: Initial Thoughts October 2010

… speaking of things from the past year I wasn’t blown away by. I’m gonna take the more positive outlook and say that there were more people willing to do a background check on the series before exposing themselves to it than people well into the series and hoping someone out there though the same way about this abomination of a series. Needless to say, I don’t have any plans for looking into any of the other Marvel/Madhouse series. My viewing alternative’s reserved for “Ultimate Spider-Man,” still hoping that it’ll be a continuation of the “Spectacular” series that was mercilessly cancelled for yet another Spidey remake. Oh the humanity.

5. Stupid Facebook Events December 2009

I honestly have absolutely no idea how this made the top five. I have a sinking feeling that photoshopped image of me has become some sort of meme in some cesspool of the internet. I pray I never find out.

Meh, not exactly the most thrilled with the auto-generated top five of last year, so I might as well end the post with the entries so far I think deserve to get those page views (in no particular order):

Attractions in 2010 [ver. DaemonCorps]

1. Hosoda Wars (November 2009)

The second entry to the site, I figured comparisons would be interesting reads. And the fact that both Summer Wars and Our War Game shared the same director only made the entry that much more fun to write. And just so I don’t get sued for enforcing torrenting, make sure to pick up Summer Wars legitly in the US later this year – it’ll be worth every penny.

2. Red, Blue, Green, and Yellow (December 2009)

The Pokemon Special / Pokemon Adventures manga series is one of the few things related to the franchise that I feel is essential reading to any fan out there. Going over the history of a manga released in Viz’s earlier years only to be dropped, resurrected somewhat and fully resurrected by the end of the year made for quite the interesting read.

3. Raise Your Ramen Bowl in Cheers (December 2009)

You can never get enough hope for the future. While it wasn’t my longest or even my most “intricately written” of entries, I liked the idea of writing an entry based on a sole random quotation from a series I’ve watched. Expect more soon.

4. Rainbow: Final Thoughts (September 2010)

Very rarely do I find an unsatisfactory series that I’ve seen all the way through and yet still find it worth writing about without going into (too much) of a fanboy rage about it.

5. Nicktoons Home Release Availability (December 2010)

In the same vain, I also very rarely write entries containing solid information I’d use for reference to something. Yeah, it’s cheating since it’s not on the same site, but I wrote it up nonetheless and was most definitely the number one entry I’ve ever written outside of school that required that much fact-checking and research. Definitely check it out.

About daemoncorps
Gabe (daemoncorps) has been writing about anime and the like since 2005, but has been babysat by it for much longer. He primarily spends his days distracting himself on twitter or writing for Fandom Post until he realizes he has a weekly webcomic (tapastic.com/series/scramblebouquet) to work on. He also just finished writing his first full-length graphic novel about unemployment (https://tapastic.com/episode/293804).

Leave a Reply

